Dental 3D printers compared
Technology, wavelength, pixel size, build volume, layer heights and resin system as published by the manufacturer. Pick up to four printers to compare them side by side.
Checked on the manufacturer pages on 17 October 2026. Values in the manufacturer's own wording, units as published.
Side by side · 1 of 4 selected
Select at least one more device to compare.
| Device | Formlabs Form 4B |
|---|---|
| Technology (manufacturer's term) | Masked Stereolithography (MSLA); Low Force Display (LFD) print engine |
| Light source | Backlight Unit: 60 uniform-wavelength LEDs; 16 mW/cm² at cure plane |
| Wavelength (nm) | 405 |
| XY resolution | 50 µm with pre-tuned anti-aliasing for subpixel resolution |
| Pixel size | 50 µm |
| Layer heights | 25–200 µm |
| Build volume | 20.0 × 12.5 × 21.0 cm (W x D x H); 5.25 liters |
| Print speed (manufacturer's statement) | Maximum Print Speed 100 mm/hour (Fast Model Resin, 200 µm layer height); typical average 40 mm/hour across all materials (100 µm) |
| Accuracy (manufacturer's statement) | Surface accuracy (restorative models, Precision Model Resin, 50 µm layers): 99.7% of surfaces within 100 μm, 95% within 50 μm, 69% within 25 μm of CAD model |
| Resin system | Formlabs materials (38, incl. 15 biocompatible) or third-party materials using Open Material Mode |
| Indications (per manufacturer) | not stated |
| Post-processing | not stated |
| File input | STL, OBJ, 3MF |
| Software | PreForm, Dashboard, Fleet Control |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi 2.4/5 GHz, Ethernet 1000 Mbit, USB-C 2.0 |
| Dimensions | 39.8 × 36.7 × 55.4 cm (W x D x H) |
| Weight (kg) | 18.3 |
| Price | Price on request from the manufacturer |
Checked on the manufacturer pages on 17 October 2026 · Sources: see the device page
| Compare | Device | Technology (manufacturer's term) | Wavelength (nm) | Pixel size | Build volume | Resin system | File input |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asiga Max 2 (50) / Max 2 (62) | DLP | 385 (405 available on request) | 50 µm / 62 µm | Max 2 (50 µm): 96 × 54 × 76 mm; Max 2 (62 µm): 119 × 67 × 76 mm (X, Y, Z) | Open material system ('Use any one of over 500 qualified resins from the world's leading material manufacturers, or create your own.') | STL, SLC, PLY, STM | |
| Asiga PRO 4K (4K45 / 4K65 / 4K80) | DLP | 385 or 405 (spec table); body text also mentions 365 nm option | 4K mode 32 / 46 / 56 µm; native mode 45 / 65 / 80 µm | 4K45: 122 × 69 × 200 mm; 4K65: 176 × 99 × 200 mm; 4K80: 217 × 122 × 200 mm (X, Y, Z) | Asiga materials, 100% Open Material System — use any suitable third party material | STL, SLC, PLY, STM | |
| Asiga Ultra (32) / Ultra (50) | DLP | 385 (365 and 405 available on request) | 32 µm / 50 µm | Ultra (32 µm): 119 × 67 × 130 mm; Ultra (50 µm): 189 × 106 × 130 mm (X, Y, Z) | Open material system ('Use any one of over 500 qualified resins from the world's leading material manufacturers, or create your own.') | STL, SLC, PLY, STM | |
| Carbon M3 Information partly incomplete | Digital Light Synthesis (DLS) | not stated | not stated | 189 x 118 x 326 mm (X x Y x Z) | Carbon resins (dental materials listed on carbon3d.com/materials/dental) | STL | |
| Carbon M3 Max Information partly incomplete | Digital Light Synthesis (DLS) | not stated | not stated | 307 x 163 x 305 mm (X x Y x Z) | Carbon resins (dental materials listed on carbon3d.com/materials/dental) | STL | |
| Dentsply Sirona Primeprint Solution (Primeprint + Primeprint PPU) Information partly incomplete | Digital light processing (DLP) | not stated | not stated | not stated | Colour-coded material cartridges with RFID check ('For specific indications, Primeprint uses a distinct material.') | not stated | |
| Formlabs Form 4B | Masked Stereolithography (MSLA); Low Force Display (LFD) print engine | 405 | 50 µm | 20.0 × 12.5 × 21.0 cm (W x D x H); 5.25 liters | Formlabs materials (38, incl. 15 biocompatible) or third-party materials using Open Material Mode | STL, OBJ, 3MF | |
| Formlabs Form 4BL | Masked Stereolithography (MSLA); Low Force Display (LFD) | 405 | 46 µm | 35.3 × 19.6 × 35.0 cm (W x D x H); 24.2 liters | Formlabs materials (32, incl. 12 biocompatible) or third-party materials using Open Material Mode | STL, OBJ, 3MF | |
| HeyGears UltraCraft A2D Information partly incomplete | LED projection with 0.47" DMD chip (manufacturer wording) | 385 | XY Native Pixel Size 75 µm | 144 x 81 x 110 mm | not stated | not stated | |
| HeyGears UltraCraft A2D 4K Information partly incomplete | 4K DLP XPR Pixel Technology (manufacturer wording) | 385 | XY Native Pixel 75 μm; XPR Pixel 53 μm | 206 x 116 x 110 mm | not stated | not stated | |
| HeyGears UltraCraft A3D Information partly incomplete | not stated in spec table; '385nm Industrial Optical Engine' listed in A-series comparison | not stated | XY Native Pixel 75 μm | 159 x 144 x 110 mm | not stated | not stated | |
| HeyGears UltraCraft ChairSide Information partly incomplete | matrix light source; CapsulePrint 2.0 (resin tank, resin and material-adding mechanism in one capsule) | 385 | XY Native Pixel 96 μm; XPR Pixel 48 μm | 124.8 x 70.2 x 70 mm | not stated | not stated | |
| HeyGears UltraCraft ChairSide Pro Information partly incomplete | not stated (page compares to 'traditional DLP printing') | 385 | XY Native Pixel 75 μm | 144 x 81 x 110 mm | not stated | not stated | |
| Ivoclar PrograPrint PR5 Information partly incomplete | not stated | not stated | Native printing resolution of 49 µm | not stated | Ivoclar materials (Ivotion Base Print, ProArt Print Wax, ProArt Print Model) plus selected Detax, Bego and Keystone materials; RFID-identified PrograPrint Cartridge | not stated | |
| Planmeca Creo X Information partly incomplete | Masked stereolithography (MSLA): Monochrome LCD photomask with 405 nm near-UV LED backlighting | 405 | not stated | not stated | Validated third-party resins from various manufacturers (e.g. BEGO, Dreve, Keystone named on page) | Open import STL, PLY | |
| Rapid Shape D50+ | Digital Light Processing (DLP) with Force Feedback | 385 | not stated | 231 x 130 x 100 mm (W x D x H, build plate size) | Material Availability 200+; Automatic Resin Refill; Automatic Separation Module (ASM) | not stated | |
| Rapid Shape D90+ | Digital Light Processing (DLP) with Force Feedback | 385 | not stated | 232 x 137 x 80 mm (W x D x H, build plate size) | not stated | not stated | |
| Rapid Shape D100+ | Digital Light Processing (DLP) with Force Feedback | 405 | not stated | 338 x 190 x 80 mm (W x D x H, build plate size) | Material Availability 20+, Open Material System | not stated | |
| Rapid Shape ONE | Digital Light Processing (DLP) with Force Feedback | 385 | not stated | 133 x 75 x 100 mm (W x D x H, build plate size) | not stated | not stated | |
| Rapid Shape PRO 20 | Digital Light Processing (DLP) with Force Feedback | 385 | not stated | 133 x 75 x 115 mm (W x D x H, build plate size) | Material Availability 200+ ('200+ Validated Materials') | not stated | |
| Rapid Shape PRO 30 | Digital Light Processing (DLP) with Force Feedback | 385 | not stated | 192 x 108 x 155 mm (W x D x H, build plate size) | Material Availability 200+ ('200+ Validated Materials') | not stated | |
| SHINING 3D AccuFab-Aris Information partly incomplete | not stated | not stated | 34 μm | not stated | 'We are an open system' (FAQ); resin tank 200 mL with NFC detection | not stated | |
| SHINING 3D AccuFab-CEL Information partly incomplete | not stated | not stated | not stated | 70 x 70 x 180 mm / 192 x 120 x 180 mm (W x D x H) | NFC resin tank | not stated | |
| SHINING 3D AccuFab-F1 | DLP Printer | not stated | not stated | 144 x 81 x 75 mm (x/y/z) | Open Material System (non-official resins usable; manufacturer recommends SHINING Dent resins) | not stated | |
| SHINING 3D AccuFab-L4D / L4K Information partly incomplete | not stated | not stated | not stated | 70 x 70 x 150 mm / 192 x 120 x 180 mm (W x D x H) | not stated | not stated | |
| SprintRay Midas Information partly incomplete | Digital Press Stereolithography (resin capsule replaces resin tank and build platform) | 385 | 45 µm Direct Projection (projector) | not stated | Single-use resin capsules | not stated | |
| SprintRay NanoPrint | 35 µm Optical Panel (manufacturer term) | 385 | not stated | 105 x 75 x 75 mm (X/Y/Z) | RFID tank; page: 'every SprintRay resin validated' | not stated | |
| SprintRay Pro 2 Information partly incomplete | Optical Panel (manufacturer term; user-replaceable, 'patent-pending'); direct peel mechanism | 385 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | |
| Stratasys DentaJet XL | PolyJet (multi-material, up to 2 materials) | not stated | not stated | Max Part Size: 140 x 200 x 190 mm | Stratasys materials: MED610-DSG Rigid Clear, MED620S Rigid Opaque, Vero White, SUP711 | not stated | |
| Stratasys J3 DentaJet | PolyJet (multi-material, up to 3 materials simultaneously) | not stated | not stated | Max Part Size: 140 x 200 x 190 mm | Stratasys materials: MED610-DSG Rigid Clear, MED620S Rigid Opaque, MED625FLX Flexible Clear, Elastico/VeroMagenta Flexible Pink, Vero White, SUP711 | not stated | |
| Stratasys J5 DentaJet | PolyJet (multi-material, up to 5 materials simultaneously) | not stated | not stated | Max Part Size: 140 x 200 x 190 mm | Stratasys materials: MED610-DSG Rigid Clear, MED620S Rigid Opaque, MED625FLX Flexible Clear, Elastico/VeroMagenta Flexible Pink, Vero White, VeroVivid Colors, TrueDent, TrueDent Support, SUP711 | not stated |
Frequently asked questions
Where do the values come from?
Only from manufacturer-owned sources: product pages, specification pages, help-centre articles and spec sheets on the manufacturer's domain. Resellers and trade press were used to find devices, never as the source of a value.
Why does it say "not stated" so often?
We show a value only if the manufacturer publishes it. Nothing is inferred, e.g. a scanner is listed as wired only when the manufacturer says so.
Why are there no prices or ratings?
Prices depend on the dealer, bundle and country; they are available on request from the manufacturer. The comparison is factual: no test, no ranking and no recommendation.
How current is the data?
Every value was read on the manufacturer's page on the check date shown. Changes the manufacturer made later appear only after the next check of the sources.
German–English dental dictionary
German–English dental terms with US/UK spelling, synonyms and abbreviations; every entry confirmed by sources or reviewed by our editor, one page per term.
German–English dental dictionaryIntraoral scanners & dental 3D printers compared
27 intraoral scanners and 31 dental 3D printers: manufacturer specifications, filters, side-by-side comparison of up to four devices, every value sourced.
Intraoral scanners & dental 3D printers compared